Divergent inspired recipes!

I think that is an understood point that most people have read the Divergent series, or at least the first page or have seen the movie. Or have at least heard of it. There have been countless reviews and other such overviews, but today I am combining just one detail from this book series into the review and usage of a completely different book. The book being picked apart today is rawsome vegan baking by Emily von Euw. I myself am not a vegan and have no plans on it in the future, but this book is an excellent jumping off point to start something new and probably healthier than something like a normal chocolate cupcake or brownie. The reason I mention Divergent is to mention the muse for the recipe I chose to attempt for this review.

The baking book that requires no baking

First, the review. This cook book is nothing of the sort. You do not have to bake anything or even really heat up on a stove, just mix or blend and refrigerate(or freeze). This gives someone plenty of time to do something productive, or not(probably not). All in all, these recipes are very easy to conduct but some of the ingredients you might have to spend some time searching in Whole Foods for. In order to see if this book really works I decided to try a recipe for Creamy Peanut & Oat Squares with Raw Chocolate and Blueberry Topping. This recipe, and whole book really, reminded of the Amity Faction from Divergent. They use resources from the land just like all of the ingredients in this book. How natural and raw they are, you decide. But this doesn’t change the fact that this book is the essence of the Amity Faction.

Onto the recipe, you will need:

1 cup of oats

1/2 cup of peanut butter ( the recipe says raw, but unless you are vegan any is fine)

1/3 cup melted coconut oil ( if you don’t already own this you should because not only can you use it in the kitchen, but also in living life[for your hair and stuff]

1/3 cup pure maple syrup ( not the kind in a big log cabin, the one in a tiny glass bottle)

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut ( I used sweetened, sue me)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries and/or other fruit you like ( I used blueberries and raspberries)

20140409_160032 (1)

Get a 9-inch square (or whatever shape you want) pan. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl except for the fruit until the oats are coated with all the wet ingredients. Press the mixture into the lined pan and *put into the fridge until it’s set, about 2 hours. You can then take it out and decorate it however you would like with the fruit and then slice and eat.

20140409_160048 20140409_160445 20140409_160427

*The recipe title does say raw chocolate which you do have the option to make, which I did, and put on top of the oat mixture before putting it in the fridge to set. Here is how you make that.

1/2 cup cacao powder or carob powder ( don’t get all caught up on the cacao cocoa thing, just use cocoa powder)

1/2 cup melted cacao butter or coconut oil ( you may want to try the cacao[cocoa] butter for a more traditional taste, I used coconut oil because I had it on hand)

1/3 cup preferred liquid sweetener, like pure maple syrup, agave nectar, coconut nectar, or raw honey which is not vegan ( I used agave)

Mix all ingredients together until smooth. Pour into chocolate molds or a parchment paper-lined baking sheet ( I did the baking sheet). Put in the fridge or freezer until solid. You can also add stuff like ground cinnamon, vanilla, hazelnuts, etc. if you want.

I did not know whether you were supposed to let the chocolate set and then put it on the oat mix, or just pour it on liquidy and let it set while the oats set? Use your best judgement if you try this at home.

20140409_161146 20140409_160518 20140409_161204

Here is the link for the author of rawsome vegan baking‘s blog. I hope you try it and have a wonderful time making this, and check out amazing books.

 

12 comments

  1. Thanks for the tips! I liked this review a lot because I recently became vegetarian just to be healthier and I will definitely be checking this not-cooking book out ASAP! I also loved your connection to Divergent because I read it over spring break (loved it).

  2. This looks like a great recipe that I want to try! Please put up more healthy recipes! It encourages me to eat healthier!

  3. This looks really delicious! I’m so glad you wrote this recipe for a vegan dessert because I’ve been looking for ones to use! Please keep blogging more dessert recipes!

  4. This recipe looks really good! I am really interested in becoming a vegan so I think I’m going to start with this! Thanks SMCHS blueprint!

  5. I liked this article very much. My piano teacher is a vegan and she is always having me try her new recipes. Now I can suggest some new recipes to her! Thanks so much!

  6. This is such an awesome article. It’s great that you posted this because not only does it look DELICIOUS but it’s pretty healthy! This would make an awesome post work out snack or just a study snack! Thanks for the recipe, definitely will be making this soon.

  7. One of my close friends recently went vegan because of new health concerns for her. She has been looking everywhere for new recipes that she can eat even with her new lifestyle, and I’m definitely going to recommend this to her. I’m sure she’ll love it! Thank you so much!

  8. This looks so good! I am going to go home and make this with my sister right now! Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *