Color

Boy and Flower

It feels as if this is a whole new world I perceive

Where flowers are not drawn only red and green

and teachers don’t say this is what it should be

The little boy smiles there’s rose on his cheek

At the end of the rainbow there are treasures I seek

For the teal line he drew makes my paper not blank

For every second I breathe is a gift wrapped in silver and beige

Every bird in the sky has a cloud to drift

and every man on Earth deserves a roof to rest

So down goes down, leaving the viridian light

So day goes by, flipping an iridescent page

May the gold pleasure stay, long and still

May the blue tears I shed, evaporate and fade

 

Inspired by: Flowers are Red by Harry Chapin
                   Nothing Gold Can Stay by Robert Frost

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *