The Pros of Christian Romance

If you’re like me, you absolutely adore reading romance novels. Yes, sometimes you can feel a little cliché (I think guys sometimes just assume that I’ve seen “The Notebook” because I wear lipstick), but really, who doesn’t enjoy a good happy ending every once in a while?

That being said, sometimes romance novels can get a little… trashy. You’ll be reading a sweet story about how a girl changed a guy for the better, and out of nowhere it’ll be “wham bam thank you ma’am”. I don’t know about you, but when I’m trying to relax by the pool side, eating some chips and reading my book (speaking of, check out my other blog post: “My Favorite Poolside Novels” for the perfect day in the sun), learning about exactly what the characters are doing – if you catch my drift – just isn’t appealing. So, to prevent your reading experience from being marred the way mine was, here are my favorite Christian romance novels- all of the love and none of the blegh. (By the way, even if you’re not religious these books are still good. I promise that they’re not overly preachy. J)

  1. Pearl in the Sand by Tessa Afshar

Sometimes, the greatest love stories are hidden within the hardest of times. Based on the true story of Rahab found in the Old Testament, Ms. Afshar retells one of the least known romances in history – the relationship between Rahab, a prostitute from Jericho, and Salmone, one of the highest-ranking men in the oncoming Israeli army. This is an intriguing tale that not only details Rahab’s part in tearing down the walls of Jericho, but her introduction to God, the Hebrews, and Salmone. Ms. Afshar brilliantly examines the hardships in a relationship, and how even though Rahab and Salmone might truly love one another they do not instantly receive a happy ending. If you’re looking for a Christian romance that has action, war, and romance, all within a realistic setting, then this is the book for you.

Pearl in the Sand
  1. The Lightkeeper’s Daughter by Colleen Coble

This is absolutely one of my favorite novels ever – I’ve read it at least 5 times over, and I’ve loved it every time. Unlike Pearl in the Sand, Lightkeeper’s Daughter is not a Biblical fiction, but it is a historical one. Taking place in the early 1900s, it details Addie Sullivan’s journey from the lighthouse where she has lived her entire life, to her position as a nurse and governess for the youngest member of the wealthy Eaton estate. Follow Addie’s journey as she ventures into the two-faced world of the rich and established, and finds love along the way. I recommend this book for literally anyone – no matter who you are. I believe that you will love this story (and if you don’t, then you and I clearly don’t agree on what constitutes as the perfect romance story).

The Lightkeeper’s Daughter
  1. Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

Redeeming Love is kind of like a perfect combination of Pearl in the Sand and The Lightkeeper’s Daughter. A rewriting of the story of Hosea, and his marriage to a prostitute, Redeeming Love gives an in-depth look at the unconditional love we always hear about but almost never see. Taking place in Gold Rush-era California, the story follows Angel, a prostitute trying to escape her existence, and Michael, a farmer who has loved and obeyed God for his entire life. Love is never perfect, and this story examines in exacting detail the ups and downs that come before the happy ending. This book is not meant for those who want a quick finish; it is a large book that forces you to question what you would do if in Angel or Michael’s position. I strongly recommend this book for those who enjoy romance, but don’t want just a cut-and-dry finish.

Redeeming Love

So yes – if your friends see you reading Christian romance, they might assume that you are in the midst of planning your future as a nun (or a priest – I know you guys want a little romance, too). But I promise you, make them read one of these as well and eventually they’ll be just as addicted to these novels as I am.

At least, I hope they will be.

Enjoy your reading!

-Raelyn

Raelyn

Hello there, ladies and gents! My name is Raelyn, and I am a senior here at Santa Margarita Catholic High School. I love to paint and want to go to college for fashion. As you've probably already figured out (by the fact that I've invested time in a library blog), I have an avid love of reading. My favorite authors right now are Stephen King and Agatha Christie. One thing you might not know about me? I've got a black belt in taekwondo, as well as 3 state champ titles and 1 World Championship title. Yeah, I'm that awesome. :)

One comment

  1. Hi Raelyn!

    It’s good to see that Blueprint is popular as always and updated regularly 😀 These look like really nice books, especially The Lightkeeper’s Daughter. I usually read dark fictional or historical books, but romance novels make a really nice read once in a while.

    Thanks for the recommendations!

    Anna 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *